Home > Chairs


From 2014, the Labex NetRNA will propose 3 junior chairs, which will be part of the external attractivity of the project.

A Junior Chair has been awarded to Yaser Hashem, coming from the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics from the Columbia University, New York. The new team called "Cryo-electron microscopy of eucaryotic protein translation complexes" will start on April 1st 2014 at the IBMC.

A second Junior Chair, located at the IBMP, has been awarded to Todd Blevins, coming from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN, USA. The new team called "Mechanisms of small RNA biogenesis and action" started on July 1st 2015.

The third Junior Chair, located at the IBMC in the M3i Unit, has been awarded to Joao Trinidad Marquès, coming from UFMG (Universidade Federal de Minais Gerais, Brazil). The team called "Antiviral immunity in Aedes mosquitoes" will study cellular and molecular aspects of host defence mechanisms, such as RNA silencing, that play a role in the control of arbovirus infections in Aedes mosquitoes. In addition, the group will use RNA sequencing approaches to identify novel biological pathways that are involved in natural resistance to arboviruses observed in wild populations of Aedes mosquitoes. Finally, the group will further develop metagenomic strategies based on the production of virus-derived small RNAs within infected hosts to identify and analyze the virome of wild Aedes mosquitoes worldwide.